VTV wins rights to broadcast AFF Suzuki Cup 2018

Việt Nam Television (VTV) has won the rights to broadcast the AFF Suzuki Cup 2018 which is scheduled to take place from November 8 to December 15, the…

10/09/2018 11:50:16

Lagardère Sports, the official sponsor of the 2018 AFF Suzuki Cup, has agreed to sell the broadcasting rights to VTV, Lao National Television (TV Lao) and Radio Television Brunei (RTB), and VTV will broadcast all 28 matches of the event including the qualifiers between Timor Leste and Brunei on September 1 and 8, as well as the group stage and knockout matches.

In 2018, the AFF Suzuki Cup will apply a new format with both home and away ties, aiming to stage more matches and allow fans to support their national teams at home.

This year, the Cup will feature 10 teams. Việt Nam are Group A alongside Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar and Malaysia.

The winning team will walk away with US$200,000, while the runners-up will receive $75,000 and the third-place team will get $50,000.

Vietnamese fans will have another chance to see cheer on their side, who finished runners-up at the 2018 AFC U23 Championship and in the top four at the 2018 Asian Games.