The AFC Annual Awards Doha 2022

The stellar achievements of the Asian Football Confederation’s (AFC) Member Associations (MAs) and Regional Associations (RAs) were put firmly in the spotlight on Tuesday evening at the AFC Annual Awards Doha 2022, presented by the AFC’s Global Partner NEOM. Vietnam Football Federation was honored to be in the nominated list of the AFC Member Association of the Year – Diamond.

01/11/2023 13:09:58

The Diamond Award for the AFC Member Federation of the Year went to the Lebanese Football Federation, but the fact that the VFF was nominated in the top 3 is AFC’s recognition of the outstanding achievements that Vietnamese football has achieved in the 2022, including the highlights of the men’s and women’s national teams and youth teams in AFC youth tournaments.

The Uzbekistan Football Association was named the AFC Member Association of the Year in the Platinum category, while the Lebanese Football Association took home the Diamond accolade; the Football Association of Hong Kong, China Limited and Guam Football Association won in the Gold and Ruby categories respectively.

History was made by the Central Asian Football Association, who was named the AFC Regional Association of the Year – the first time this accolade has been given out at the AFC Annual Awards.

In addition, Saudi Arabian sensation Salem Al Dawsari and Australian icon Samantha Kerr have clinched the prestigious AFC Player of the Year Award in the men’s and women’s categories respectively.

Claiming top honours in the coaching category, Japan’s Hajime Moriyasu, who orchestrated the Blue Samurai’s stunning comeback victories over former champions Germany and Spain to qualify for the Round of 16 at the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, received the men’s AFC Coach of the Year award.
At the same time, Shui Qingxia, who ended China PR’s 16-year wait for the AFC Women’s Asian Cup™ trophy when she led the Steel Roses to victory in India in 2022, and in doing so became the first to win the coveted title both as a player and head coach, was presented with the AFC Coach of the Year award in the women’s category.
Islamic Republic of Iran’s Moslem Oladghobad was confirmed as the AFC Futsal Player of the Year after guiding his nation to the Final of the AFC Futsal Asian Cup™ Kuwait 2022, where he was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.
Four years after it was last staged, the glitzy ceremony, which was presented by AFC Global Partner NEOM, also marked its return by conferring the Confederation’s highest honour – the AFC Diamond of Asia – to the late Saoud Al Mohannadi of Qatar.
AFC Annual Awards Doha 2022 Roll of Honour
AFC Diamond of Asia
Saoud Al Mohannadi of Qatar (posthumous)
AFC Member Association of the Year 
Platinum: Uzbekistan Football Association
Diamond: Lebanese Football Association
Gold: The Football Association of Hong Kong, China Limited
Ruby: Guam Football Association
AFC Regional Association of the Year
Central Asian Football Association
AFC President Recognition Awards for Grassroots Football
Gold: Football Australia
Silver: Guam Football Association
Bronze: All India Football Federation
AFC Coach of the Year (Women’s)
Shui Qingxia (CHN)
AFC Coach of the Year (Men’s)
Hajime Moriyasu (JPN)
AFC Futsal Player of the Year
Moslem Oladghobad (IRN)
AFC Women’s Player of the Year:
Samantha Kerr (Chelsea FC and AUS)
AFC Player of the Year:
Salem Al Dawsari (Al Hilal SFC and KSA)
The awards below were not presented in Qatar:
AFC Asian International Player of the Year:
Kim Min-jae (Fenerbahce/SSC Napoli/FC Bayern Munchen and KOR)
AFC Youth Player of the Year (Women’s)
Maika Hamano (INAC Kobe Leonessa/Chelsea FC and JPN)
AFC Youth Player of the Year (Men’s)
Kuryu Matsuki (Aomori Yamada High School/FC Tokyo and JPN)
AFC Referees Special Award
Chris Beath (AUS) – Referee,
Anton Shchetinin (AUS) – Assistant Referee,
Ashley Beecham (AUS) – Assistant Referee,
Ammar Aljneibi (UAE) – Support Video Assistant Referee