AFC U-16 Championship: Viet Nam in group C

21/05/2010 00:00:00
Defending champions Iran were handed down a tough draw here Thursday after being grouped with Syria, DPR Korea and Oman for the AFC U-16 Championship (24 October-7 November).


The top 16 teen teams of Asia came out of the pots to be slotted into four groups of four teams each.

Iran won the title for the first time in the last edition in 2008 when they defeated Korea Republic 2-1 in the final. Korea Republic failed to qualify this time for the 14th Finals.

Hosts Uzbekistan will have fellow Central Asians Tajikistan, Jordan and Indonesia for company in Group A.

Group C will see 2006 champions and last instalment’s semi-finalists Japan alongside Australia, debutants Timor Leste and Vietnam.

There are three West Asian teams in Group D – 2008 semi-finalists UAE, Iraq and Kuwait – with two-time winners China, who clinched the honours in 1992 and more recently in 2004.

Iran are set to face a tough challenge from DPR Korea, runners-up in 2004 and 2006, and Syria, who reached the last four in 2006.

The top two teams in each group (eight teams in total) will qualify for the knockout stage (quarter-finals).

The four winners of the quarter-finals will play in the semi-finals and the two winners will advance to the final. There will be no 3rd and 4th placing play-off.

The four semi-finalists will represent Asia at the FIFA U-17 World Cup next year.

The matches will be played at the Jar and Pakhtakor Stadiums.

AFC U-16 Championship 
The groupings
Group A
A1. Uzbekistan 
A2. Tajikistan 
A3. Jordan 
A4. Indonesia 

Group B
B1. Iran 
B2. Syria 
B3. DPR Korea 
B4. Oman 

Group C
C1. Japan 
C2. Australia 
C3. Timor Leste 
C4. Vietnam 

Group D
D1. UAE 
D2. Iraq 
D3. China 
D4. Kuwait